Remove Text Formatting

Likes Likes:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Welders?

stangstevers

Welders?

Well as you know I have a lot of welding to do on the Cobra. I have a 220amp MIG with gas. But it's not the best I've ever used. Sure I'm not a pro at all but I got the privilege to try out an all digital Miller which cost more than my black notch and the difference was simply amazing. I'm wondering if there's something I can get that will allow me to work on sheet metal better. So basically being able to weld 18ga sheet metal up to 12ga structural stuff such as frame rails. I could get a smaller 110v welder for smaller jobs and keep my larger MIG for structural.

I also wanted to learn how to TIG and maybe build a turbo setup (my goal eventually). Not sure if those "all in one" deals are any good...

Any ideas? Keep in mind, I won't be able to spend 5 grand on a welder at this point.

Thanks

I've got a 220 mig set up for structural work and a 110 mig set up for smaller jobs like sheet metal and exhaust. It really is the best way to do it or you will be compromising. Another option is a single mig but changing liners and wire size, seemed like a great idea when I tried it but in reality most times I went to grab the mig it had the wrong set up in it, changing over got old quick.
    When purchasing a mig (s), staying with the big two names, you can seldom go wrong. Pay special attention if your buying an OEM or made for the big box store version though, considerable difference between them. Watching Kijiji or similar, amazing what pops up from time to time.

stangstevers
    yeah some good deals... I bought an old tomb stone Lincoln arc with two 75 foot 0 gauge cables... got everything for $150... At the time I was building plates and rock sliders for my Ranger. Oh it also came with boxes on boxes of rods of all sizes. Sold everything for profit once I got rid of the off-road Ranger.