Loading...
Remove Text Formatting

Likes Likes:  7
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fox tuning of A9L Q

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Hamilton ON
    Posts
    650

    Fox tuning of A9L Q

    I'm months away from a tune but thinking on it. I've never had a tune done, last build was a crude work around with an FMU (for sale btw).

    Anyway I'll be using an SCT chip on an A9L. I assume the computer has to come out, be programmed and then slapped back in for another pull.

    I've got the dash out of my 91 and am wondering if I should leave the heater fan uninstalled to allow access to the computer? Dash is about to go back in and it's decision time. Also time to post a sneaky f#cker double DIN rig I made.

    I know the computer can be removed with the fan in place but I'd rather spend my $$ on tuning time over wrestling the ECU in and out.

    looking for feedback from the experienced hands here.

  2. #2
    Member WidowrRacing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Bowmanville
    Posts
    1,094
    Just have the passenger side kick panel and insulation behind it removed.
    ECU is exposed and ready to go for the SCT chip process.

    Who will be tuning it?

  3. #3
    Member 1BAD92LX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Bay
    Posts
    1,060
    DCT had the chip in mine quick and easy. I didn’t have anything apart.
    Stock engine Fox equipped with the Maximum Motorsports catalog. Now I have lots of Trick Flow stickers.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Halton
    Posts
    142
    Dont you need to clean the contacts on the test port first?
    Might be better to relocate if your going to mess with tunes

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Hamilton ON
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by WidowrRacing View Post
    Just have the passenger side kick panel and insulation behind it removed.
    ECU is exposed and ready to go for the SCT chip process.

    Who will be tuning it?
    Probably Meisener. My engine guy uses them.

  6. #6
    Admin ZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Toronto, On
    Posts
    30,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Spock View Post
    Dont you need to clean the contacts on the test port first?
    Might be better to relocate if your going to mess with tunes
    Yes if the ECM is a virgin, terminals much be properly cleaned first.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Hamilton ON
    Posts
    650
    which terminals are we talking about? I have 3 ECM's, all with fresh caps thanks to Frankie. I should clean them all up.

  8. #8
    Admin ZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Toronto, On
    Posts
    30,488
    Port where the chip plugs in (on back end).



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SiteUptime Web Site Monitoring Service