Remove Text Formatting

Likes Likes:  14
Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Convertible - Pros and Cons

Convertible - Pros and Cons

I was talking with someone at a meet recently about convertibles and wanted to hear other opinions. I have never owned one, and think I may have only been in one a time or two. So I have no experience.

So, convertible owners past and present what are the Pros and Cons of owning a vert? Are you in the "nothing beats top down cruising" camp or the "fuck that, the direct sun is brutal" point of view?? Somewhere in the middle?

BECAUSE RACECAR

SN95 Saleen Vert...mmmm....i've been a few and they are Hot as Fck on a day like today...but when the sun starts to go down there is nothing like it!
    Favourite time is at night when it's warm. I've debated getting a vert several times as well.

CON : messes up your hair

PRO: messes up your wife's hair
    wind-hair-8.jpg

BIG CON: need roll bar
    -Don____________

Mustang Occasionally
    I've had an 87 GT vert, a 2012 GT vert and now this 2015 GT vert.

I wasn't really into my 87 vert. I had it for a short while and it just didn't cut it for me. I stayed away from verts for a long time after that because I just didn't think they were my thing.

2012... Picked up that black 2012 from Heritage and I loved it right off the bat. Did some styling mods to it and it was one of the sharpest cars I've had. It took the Boss to trade it.

Now back in the saddle and I test drove a coupe and almost bought it. But when it came time, I really wanted to be able to enjoy those summer night cruises. And I have been. I've got almost 1700kms on the odo after just over a week.

Nice summer days where there is a mix of sun and cloud and maybe a high of 24/25 is very nice too. But the summer nights... They're the best.

And it's best to have a good working a/c system too to compensate. My current car also has cooled seats which really help out.