PDA

View Full Version : My very own "Am I the Asshole" thread

Quicksilver
12-26-2022, 12:32 PM
As you know, I'm a contractor. I run my business from my house, and we store most of our tools and equipment in my barn.
All of my crews are subcontractors, and as such they supply their own tools and trucks, while I have the more expensive stuff which we lend them as needed. They often leave stuff here for convenience, and pick it up later. I've not got insurance on their tools, nor have I ever said I'd be responsible.
Currently I have 4 crews, and we have people around all the time. Just two weeks ago we had a mobile guy here to replace all the tires on our dump truck(6 tires: $2400!!) I'm not allways here, and people do come and go.

One of my guys, we'll call him "Bob" has been with me for 22 years. Apparently, he left an $800 compressor in the barn a month ago. (We've since seen a similar one on sale for $250 at Home Depot, but whatever). He didn't tell me, and did not ask permission.
Now he can't find it, and thinks I should buy him a new one.

I think it's his responsibility, not mine, and I don't think I should have to pay for a new one. I will offer a couple of hundred dollars to help out, but not $800!

Opinions, please?

Old Fart
12-26-2022, 01:03 PM
Since he did not tell you it was in the barn, how do you know it was there. You are more generous than me by offering any money.

ChickenLips
12-26-2022, 01:08 PM
How valuable is he to your business?

How would giving him $$ or a compressor affect relations with the other contractors? Your actions will be the new precedent.

The above ignore whether or not his claim is real. Unless there's cameras, solving legitimacy is a waste of time.

Maybe buy a replacement that remains your property but is available for loan out.

Quicksilver
12-26-2022, 06:04 PM
Since he did not tell you it was in the barn, how do you know it was there. You are more generous than me by offering any money.