PDA

View Full Version : Video Equipment Suggestions

Blackmare
09-13-2016, 02:29 PM
Was just approached by my boss to pick up some video recording equipment. I have no experience with this type of tech.
Can anyone suggest a budget friendly video recorder, tri pod and editing software? They'll be used to record some training material as well as marketing vids etc. Any other suggestions you have are welcome.
Thanks guys/gals.

Laffs
09-13-2016, 03:21 PM
Define budget friendly? We talking small startup budget friendly or municipal office at year end budget friendly?

Laffs
09-13-2016, 03:30 PM
FWIW we bought a Canon EOS 70D, added a bag, seven oak hand held stabilizer, manfrotto tripod and monopod and I think it call came in around $1700 or so. I can pull invoices if you want. Software is Adobe Premiere Pro but that's just monthly subscription, since Adobe won't let you buy software outright anymore, think it was $25 per month to add it to the licenses.

We have yet to exceed the capabilities of this setup for 99% of our YT/Social and general shoot stuff. If you want to have a pro end product, its all in the people using the gear and software IMO. We could have spent 2x our cost and I'm confident the results would be the same, hell some of the shit we've recorded on tablets/phones has been decent for internal consumption. Depending on how large a volume of videos you intend to shoot it may be better to just find a good agency to shoot and produce the pieces you want and budget for their costs YoY vs buying the hardware.

Blackmare
09-13-2016, 03:52 PM
Define budget friendly? We talking small startup budget friendly or municipal office at year end budget friendly?

Sorry, you're right. Small business budget for something that might be used a few times a year for internal consumption with perhaps the odd FB post. I'd say $500-$1000 tops.

Laffs
09-13-2016, 04:11 PM